Generator Exhaust

Stuff that goes in your Chinook but isnt really part of your Chinook.
pdemarest
**Forum Contributor**

Generator Exhaust

Post by pdemarest »

Hi - being a newbie I figure that I can ask the most ridiculous questions so here's another one; I was looking at the Gen-Turi exhaust system for my generator, partially for the noise reduction but mostly to get the fumes up over the rig so I don't choke my neighbors on exhaust fumes. I don't use my ladder and started wondering "what if I used flexible exhaust tubing and ran it up the ladder so it vented out at roof level?" I like the Gen-Turi but I'm not wild about having to install and uninstall it each time I set up/break camp so I thought maybe I could use flexible tubing instead. I've ordered a resonator for the generator (mostly to tone down the hammering sound) but still need to deal with getting the fumes up higher. Any thoughts on this?
Paul Demarest
2003 Premier V-10
SMan

Re: Generator Exhaust

Post by SMan »

I've had a number of Onan's in RV's over the years and am not convinced that the exhaust is the major component causing noise. I am sure a resonator will decrease exhaust sound to some extent however. I've looked at the Genturi but for me the few times I use the generator makes the effort not worth it. As for using flexible tubing my concern would the type of material used. FWIW I am rarely close enough to another RV'er that fumes are an issue.
Steve aka SMan
2004 Premier V10
pdemarest
**Forum Contributor**

Post by pdemarest »

Thanks, Steve - most of the time we're camping we park next to our kids/grandkids tent trailer so the exhaust issue is big for us. Most of the time it wouldn't be a problem. I was planning on using flexible tubing that is made for exhaust systems but may wind up with a Gen-Turi. My biggest problem with that solution is that it takes up space - always an issue with these rigs.