George Washington National Forest

Travels and adventures.
Skillet

George Washington National Forest

Post by Skillet »

If my schedule doesn't change, I'm going to try an overnight boondocking (dispersed camping) trip tomorrow night. I've never done that before so I'm looking forward to doing it with the pups. I've driven through parts of it on my motorcycle and love deep forest as much as I love the beach. I'm excited that this is one of the few areas on the East Coast you can just pull over anywhere and camp for free. I envy everyone on the other side of the Mississippi!
I've located an area using a "motor vehicle use map" and then going to Google Maps I think I found a nice, secluded pull-off. I may have to improvise once I get there and it doesn't pan out. Trying to do something that's not a campground. If anyone's camped in this forest, love to hear about it.

http://www.fs.usda.gov/gwj/
'02 Concourse where there's always a project going on...
Manitou
Site Admin

Re: George Washington National Forest

Post by Manitou »

Awesome! Not to put bad thoughts in your head, but do you have some sort of self defense? Maybe the dogs are big and bad enough on their own.. Maybe mace.. Maybe a gun!? Haha
Skillet

Post by Skillet »

I haven't decided if I was going to bring my pepper spray but I'll bring my Glock and of course the 2 dogs are young German Shepherds. They are full of energy and will be good protection as well. Love having the safe for the gun on-board.
Blue~Go

Post by Blue~Go »