Trials of a Towing Newbie

Anything that goes behind your Chinook, flat, trailer, toys.
Rokrover

Trials of a Towing Newbie

Post by Rokrover »

I’m a newbie to towing with the Chinook but need to haul a rental trailer to bring home a new motorcycle. Maybe I have a knack of complicating things but it took some time and effort just to get hitch ready.

First was locating the receiver buried back there under the low rear overhang. Next was finding a ball hitch mount with the proper length, rise and clearance. Finally I needed a wiring harness from the existing 6-pin socket to a standard flat 4-pin connector.

So the standard trailer hitch height is 17” but I am concerned more may be needed for ground clearance having already dragged the back end over bumps and dips. Then the standard ball coupler length of 8” complicates things as it provides insufficient clearance for my rear step. The RV dealer suggested adding an extension (longer one-piece couplers are hard to find) but that reduces the load rating and ground clearance over bumps even more.

My draconian solution was simple - unbolt and remove the rear step! Now the 2” ball is accessible and has 15” ground clearance with a 2” drop mount; sturdy and close enough. I don’t plan on reinstalling the bottom folding step as it just adds weight and rattling noise with little functional benefit.

As for the wiring harness, I had to splice an adapter for the existing round port. That necessitated matching wire color to brake, L/R turn, stop and ground. No need for the electric brake or auxiliary +12V connections.

I'm sure this is all routine stuff for Chinook veterans and hopefully next time my hookup should be a simple ‘plug and play’ operation.
Ted C. / SW Arizona
"The Blue Chook" 2002 Concourse Owner: 2013-2019
Colorider

Re: Trials of a Towing Newbie

Post by Colorider »