battery issue

Post project writeups, ideas, DIY mods and off the shelf modifications and improvements. Also "Known Issues" and their resolutions.
chin_k
**Forum Contributor**

battery issue

Post by chin_k »

I am a complete newbie when it come to the flooded battery. I usually use AGM, but there are two huge Interstate batteries in the coach. I have three questions:

1, is it normal for you to get some liquid on the bottom of the battery tray after you drive around? It seems to me that some of the acid in the batteries somehow spill out when the rig move around. I can test the pH to confirm, but I am sure it is not water leak.

2, is there a place where I can bring my battery to to have it serviced? Meaning they will add water to it, etc.. For one of the Interstate batteries, I can see the level thru the translucent case, and one of the partitions is noticeably lower than the others, maybe by 1/2 inch.

3, the other battery have even liquid level, but it is not hold charge anymore. The best I can do is to get it all the way to 12+, but it will drop down to 10.2 V relatively quickly. Is there a way for me to revive it, or it is pretty much ruined?
2000 Concourse dinette, on 1999 6.8L Ford E350 Triton V-10 Chassis
Scott
**Forum Contributor**

Re: battery issue

Post by Scott »

1) I would not consider that to be normal. At least I've never seen it. Has anyone else? Are the caps secure? That's something that needs to be corrected.

2) You can do it yourself. It's super easy. Top off with distilled water. Just be careful, and wear eye protection. If you don't have convenient easy access, and you plan on sticking with flooded cells, look into getting an irrigation system. Makes it much faster, easier, foolproof.

3) Unfortunately, it's probably toast. I'd just replace them both. Bring the old ones with you and make sure to get your rebate for the cores. You can get a pair of flooded 6V deep cycle batts for a little more than $300 (I'm biased though).

Good luck.